Facebook Will Be Doing This With Your Pictures Even if You Aren’t Tagged

Social media giant Facebook will be sending alerts when a photo of you is posted on their platform, even if you are not tagged.

The company is using its facial recognition technology to alert its users when a photo of them is tagged as they may want to add this picture to their profile. The feature also helps people learn whether or not other people are using their photos to pass off as their own.

The setting is not mandatory and is optional if a user decides to use it. You just need to have the feature turned on to be able to have the facial recognition software recognize your photos. Users will get alerts if they are opted into the feature.

“You’re in control of your image on Facebook and can make choices such as whether to tag yourself, leave yourself untagged, or reach out to the person who posted the photo if you have concerns about it,” said Facebook in a statement.

Disclaimer: We have no position in Facebook, Inc. Common Stock (NASDAQ: FB) and have not been compensated for this article.

Sofia Vida

Sofia has been writing for major news outlets for over 15 years. In her spare time she enjoys hiking, walking her dogs, and going to concerts.

sophia-villa has 2026 posts and counting.See all posts by sophia-villa