Just Added Sales Tax To These States

Amazon has added 10 more states to the list of jurisdictions from which it collects sales tax. The states are below:

Rhode Island
South Dakota

This brings the total number of states that Amazon is able to collect sales tax to 39.

The states above will not begin collecting taxes on Amazon purchases until March 1. The other states included in the 39 have levies in effect.

“Wyoming businesses are at a disadvantage when internet businesses fail to collect tax,” Gov. Matt Mead said in a statement. “This is an important step in the right direction.”

Disclaimer: We have no position in Inc. (NASDAQ: AMZN) and have not been compensated for this article.

Sofia Vida

Sofia has been writing for major news outlets for over 15 years. In her spare time she enjoys hiking, walking her dogs, and going to concerts.

sophia-villa has 2089 posts and counting.See all posts by sophia-villa